New in 2010 Massachusetts saltwater recreational anglers are now required to register for a saltwater fishing permit. For this year only, the registration is free and is through the National Marine Fisheries Service.
In 2011, the permit fee will be $10 through our state program; whereas the federal program will be charging a permit fee $25. Because Massachusetts has enacted its own registration law, state anglers will be exempt from the higher federal fee next year.
Also exempt will be anglers who are younger than 16, or disabled, or who fish only on permitted for-hire vessels like charters boats, do not have to register in 2010 or obtain a state permit in 2011. Anglers that are 60 years and older will need to obtain a state permit in 2011 but there will be no fee.
Visit the Mass. Division of Marine Fisheries for a Saltwater Permit FAQ